Bucket List: Father / Son Campout

My wife deserves all the credit for this one.  Many LDS Wards / Congregations have a Father / Son Campout.  I remember my first one with my dad was at Camp Maluhia on Maui and it was awesome . . . until I cut my ankle open at 1am and my dad had to take me to the emergency room.

Big helpers setting up the tent

Big helpers setting up the tent

 

There was much deliberation on my part whether or not I should take the kids to the campout. . . . I am honestly not a great outdoorsman and the thought of spending a Friday Night sleeping on the ground and possibly, having to work through breakdowns or fights wasn’t my idea of a fun night.

However, the boys really did fantastic.  The campground was in American Fork Canyon and is literally 15 minutes from our home.  The boys were SO EXCITED – my wife took them to the store to pick out a special ‘camp candy’ and off we went!  The boys helped me set up the tent, carry everything from the car, and off they went to chase one of their friends.

Roasting Marshmallows

Being a stay-at-home dad, one of my biggest pet peeves is being at a public setting (gym class, water park, etc) and having non-attentive parents who, pardon the phrase, but lack of parenting put their kids and mine in tough situations. . . . parents who are too busy talking on the phone to notice their kid is pushing and cutting in gym . . . . or pushing all the other kids off the water guns at the park and my kids patiently waiting their turn.  Life isn’t fair . . I get that . . . but this really gets under my skin.

Well, imagine 20 kids around a campfire with 3ft long sticks in the fire and each of them checking their stick . . . .or running to meet a friend . . . or putting the stick in someone’s face to ‘blow out the candle.’  Ugh!  I guess dads aren’t any more attentive than their spouses.  🙂

Enjoying their tent candy

Enjoying their tent candy

It was cold that night and as soon as the boys were in bed, they were out cold.  We woke up the next morning and Twin A (momma’s boy) wanted to go home to see mom but I held him off for a few hours so they could eat breakfast and hang out a little longer.

Post camp results.  One happy mommy & two tired kiddos

Post camp results. One happy mommy & two tired kiddos

I’m glad my wife really made it possible for us to go on the campout . . . encouraging and pushing me to do this.  I’m thankful for the kids that include my twins and have fun with them . . . . some of the others don’t and that’s fine but there are some kids that are exceptional and for them, I am truly grateful.

Looking forward to our next Father / Son Campout.

2 comments
  1. Colleen Wunder said:

    Cute thoughts from a father’s point of view on being a father and in reflecting upon mom’s influence! I don’t remember you cutting your ankle. . .

Leave a Reply

