Thanksgiving Activity

I feel so guilty NOT blogging.  I actually love to update this blog and post things but I’ve had more consistent work with a great company (if you love crafting, check out www.ohmycrafts.com) so between the holiday rush for Oh My Crafts, being the ‘stay at home’ dad, piano students, and working on an online store (more to come on that in a future post) life has been busy.

great place to be at

Great Company! Grateful for the opportunity to be there

Thanksgiving: On a thankful note, I am so thankful for my family and the things we are blessed with.  Someone once told me that he felt bad we’ve gone through so much crap.  There are always days where things can seem pretty heavy but when I really think about it, I have so much to be thankful for.  I have an amazing wife who I  love and adore, three kiddos that mean the world to me, and our home life is a blast.  We seriously have a TON of laughter in our home and it’s fun to hear.  That’s what’s important.

I am also thankful for all of you and your blogs.  I enjoy reading about your accomplishments and celebrate them!  I read about hard times you are going through and wish I could tell you how you’ve got a friend cheering you on and wishing the best for you.  Thank you for sharing your lives and experiences with me!

The boys have been doing well at school.  Last year, we had them in separate classes so they would both progress and learn without hindering each other.  However, during the summer, we noticed they had some problems playing together.  So this year, they are in the same class and that has been both a blessing and on some days, a curse.  We got them matching shoes and that threw a kink in the regime with the teachers.  The boys always had different shoes so even if they wore the same outfit, the teachers could tell them apart.  However, I think most of the teachers are able to tell them apart now.  Their classmates well . .  . that’s a different story.  It is funny to see their classmates  always asking them, “what’s your name?”

With the boys being together so much, we’ve had to do more activities to give them their ‘own identity’ and I’ll get into that in the next post.

Fun Game

My mother in law spends an afternoon here with us doing activities with the kids.  She brought over a fantastic BINGO activity she got online.  I’m not sure which one she used exactly but it was good for the kids. . . .tough the first time around for them to watch the other get a BINGO and they may not have one yet but I think they are starting to understand it a little more.

its a wonderful life thankful tree

Our “Thankful” Tree

We’ve also been raiding Pinterest for holiday activities.  (Follow me here if you’d like). This was our “Thankful Tree.”  It is always interesting to hear what the kids are thankful for.  Our goal is to do this each year and collect these trees as the years go by.

it's a wonderful life thankful tree, OT Activities

Gluing the ‘leaves’ on the tree

We also did a “Frosty the Snowman” activity that I’ll put in a future post.  What I loved about all of these activities was that it combined something the boys were working with in OT with a fun holiday theme.  From cutting, tracing their hands, gluing the marshmallows, writing their names, shaking the glitter ~ we had a range of activities.  It also got some discussion going on what they are thankful for (Angry Birds, glue, Mario Kart) which was fun to do.

it's a wonderful life - thankful tree

Writing his name. Pincher grip is getting better!

As we head into, what I consider to be my favorite time of the year, I can’t help but feel thankful for these two and all the growth they’ve seen. We have our tough days (what family doesn’t) but these two boys have grown up so much this year and I’ve got to experience a lot of it firsthand.  For that, I’ll always be grateful.

7 comments
  1. Lisa said:

    Love hearing that your boys are doing so well. What a blessing!!

    You work for Oh My Crafts?!!! Love that website!!!

    • Thanks! It’s a great little company. The owners (Kevin and Sandy) are fantastic and really try and do a lot for the community. I love that ~ way different from some other companies I’ve worked for.

  2. Good to hear what you and the family have been up to! All my regular blogging community have been a bit quiet lately (including me!). It must be the time of year. So don’t feel guilty. That’s just how it is.

  3. I enjoy reading the activities you do with your boys, and that they are doing so well. I look forward to following you on PInterest. Wishing you and your family a wonderful Thanksgiving and Christmas season!

    • Thanks Karen! To you as well ~ hope you have a great holiday. Followed you on Pinterest, looking forward to getting more gluten free ideas! 🙂

  4. Happy Thanksgiving, guys!

    On a personal note, my family is still recovering from my Pinterest addiction which I got from, oh, yeah, YOU – and now a new site to explore – Oh My Crafts – I’ve been dying to get into paper crafts, but I can’t seem to get off of Pinterest.

    Blessings,
    Alyson

    • Buwahahahahahah! Now now, you can’t blame your Pinterest addiction on me! My mom didn’t like pinterest until she figured out how to really ‘pin’ something you like. Now, she’s the most active person I know on Pinterest. 🙂

      If you want great paper craft ideas, check them out! The designers are talented ladies and they are such a good group of people, it’s a pleasure working with them.

      Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

