Outer Banks Surfing for Autism Volunteer Spots Open

A few weeks back I posted about an awesome soccer camp by the Red Devils Soccer Club here in Utah.  I like this blog format but the hyperlinks don’t show up too well so I’ll bold them whenever I add one.

From Outer Banks Vacations - posted on It's a Wunderful Life

From Outer Banks Vacations

Anyway, I read a post by the Outer Banks earlier in the year about surfing camps for autistic kids and in their most recent post, they inform us they are looking for volunteers but also have a great video with clips from their past camps (check out the post and video here ~ via Outer Banks Surfing for Autism Volunteer Spots Open).  I can’t post video to my blog but the screen shot below is of the video mentioned above.

Surfing for Autism posted by Outer Banks & reposted at It's a Wunderful Life

Screen shot of video posted @ Outer Banks Vacations

If you follow this blog, you’ll know that I love the ocean and have posted different things about the ocean from a Pro Surfer with Aspergers (Clay Marzo from Maui), to a video that has a feature on an autistic boy and his love to the ocean (Come Hell or High Water).

I want to give a special “thank you” to those who dream up and make these camps and activities for our kids actually happen.  The soccer camp was great for our family and I am grateful to those who did so much for the camp and those kids who participated.  Likewise, thanks to those who do this surfing activity!

Launiupoko Surfing @ It's a Wunderful Life

Looking forward to getting back home!

We will be hitting the beach soon as well!  One of our uncles back home took my daughter surfing last year and I’m tempted to see if the boys will do ok on a board.  If anything, we’ll try bodyboarding and take it from there.  I bet that we’d get a better response than last year.  🙂

 

7 comments
  1. Cyn said:

    This post and many others are why I have nominated you for “the very inspiring blogger award.” Congratulations….*sneaks away*

    *The rules for receiving “the very inspiring blogger award” are tell seven random things about yourself, thank the person who has awarded you for this award by linking back to them and pass the award over to other bloggers and let them know you’ve awarded them.

    • That’s nice of you! Thanks always for visiting and the comments!

  2. That is such a great initiative! Last Christmas was the first time my 5yo really enjoyed getting into the ocean and the rough and tumble of the waves. He was absolutely exhilarated by the water and I was so excited to see him loving it with every inch of his being. I think there is something similar here in Australia. I remember seeing a documentary about it but I think it was more generalised for special needs. Whatever – it’s brilliant!

    • If you look for “Come Hell or High Water” on Patagonia’s blog (I think I linked to it in an earlier post), there was a great post from a family in Australia and their autistic child in the water.

      Thanks for the comment ~ wish we could all take our kids to the beach together and meet everyone. 🙂

      • That would be fun! Maybe in Hawaii? I have always wanted to visit there. I’ll check out that post you’re talking about too – thanks for the tip.

        • Would be awesome, I got a few responses from the post from people who saw the film and loved it. The original post on Patagonia was way cool though, hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

