It’s a Wunderful Life – 3.26.2012

I think it’s hilarious when our friends in Oregon are posting pictures of snow and awful weather and we had absolutely gorgeous weather – shorts and t-shirts one day!  The boys were happy to bring out their Angry Bird shirts and run around at the park.

Accomplishments: So ’tis the season for IEP’s apparently. Our situation is a little interesting since our IEP’s were done with the current school our boys attend that is an Autism Targeted School.  However, they receive services from our local school district for speech and OT at two separate schools and there is even a third school that hosts the preschool for special needs that our boys would attend if they weren’t in their current school.

So, besides doing IEP’s with their current teachers, we had a third mtg with the local school district, the preschool advisor and their two therapists.  The two therapists travelled across the school district to come and the preschool advisor hasn’t seen our boys since we started at their current school, but was there for the IEP.  Yes, it’s “her job” technically to do this but at the same time, you can tell that she genuinely is interested in their progress and their well being.  We actually have a tentative visit scheduled so the boys can come by and say hi.  I mean, how many people would want to take time out of their day to do that?  Awesome.

I was a bit bummed to hear one of the current tested percentiles but at the same time, to think about where they have come is outstanding.  I am EXTREMELY GRATEFUL for all the individuals that have met with us about our boys and are currently helping them grow.  THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Opportunities: The boys are learning about ‘class leaders’ that will lead the class to lunch, recess, etc.  Both boys have become more independent in school – Twin B especially loves running errands for his teacher.  Now, the issue comes in when they both want to be the ‘leader’ at home.  Ugh!  “NO I WANT TO BE THE LEADER” and so it starts. . . . hilarious.

Tip of the Week: This is a program called Boardmaker and our speech therapist uses it on her Mac.

The program isn’t the tip of the week since I heard it is a little pricey, it was the visual instructions that the boys did extremely well with.  She made a few slides that showed them how to make ice cream shakes and we made small shakes.  This helped quite a bit with the “into” direction that Twin A, especially, is working on.

The takeaway I had from this was that I can draw a few steps, or even make it on powerpoint on how to, let’s say, bake a cake.  If I detailed it out a little for the boys  “3 eggs (picture cracked), into bowl” I bet they could figure it out and help me bake a cake.  Hmmm. . . . . exercise for spring break!  I bet I can make it in powerpoint with pictures from the web and it would be just as good as this.  Maybe I’ll make it and post in a future post.

One of our friends painted this of our kids. . . . . I have it above our computer and look at it everyday.  Man she is talented but I love how she captured our kids.  Have a great week!

25 comments
  1. Just returned from my own IEP! You post brought back memories. The visual aid for directions on the computer–awesome! That would have been soooo helpful when mine were younger. Glad someone thought of it though. I’m going to send this to a friend with a little one dx. Curious, are your twins identical or fraternal? Great post–have a great day!

    • It’s amazing what you can do now with technology. The iPad has been a lifesaver for us . . . . . . not that the boys are productive on it but still. 🙂

      They boys are identical twins.

      • Technology amazing, yes! At the time mine were dx, I searched the internet, thinking I would find someone out there with identical twins but never did. You are the first. They are adorable, btw, and I love the painting–what a great gift!

        • We are the first? Wow! I love the painting. This is actually the second one she did for us. Thanks for visiting!

    • Thanks! This is the second painting our friend did – we love her stuff!

  2. I am familiar with the challenges you meet daily but in a smaller scale. I appreciate you constant seeking of techniques and love for your children. I also applaude the consideration of their individualities.
    Peach State

  3. Grainne said:

    That painting is beautiful!! *Your lovely kids are the perfect models!*

    • Thanks a TON! It was a gift my wife and I got for each other and is priceless!

  4. Picture your friend painted is absolutely beautiful! But your friend had great subjects!! 🙂 We had our IEP as well and it was not as pleasant and successful as yours. 😦 It seems to be just a constant fight. Keep up the great work!! ~

    • Thanks for the comment. Sorry to hear your IEP didn’t go as well as you’d like and best wishes in your continued progress!

  5. Thank you for the post. Freezing in WA state, by the way, too. 🙂 Sam

  6. Lisa said:

    I love the painting…you have beautiful children!

    Wow – your boys have a lot of different places to go…but how wonderful that they are making progress. I know the feeling of seeing the low percentiles…but they’re making strides, right?! That is very exciting.

    • Thanks! She’s done two for us (the first she did as a surprise for an art class – it was of our daughter when she was little). Yes, they are making progress – gotta love the journey, right? 🙂

  7. Amy said:

    Your blog is like free therapy. Sometimes it’s nice just to know you are not alone.

    • Hah hah hah – thanks for visiting. Theraputic? That’s awesome!

  8. Tiffini said:

    Children are gems and I get really tickled when I come across parents who understand the value of play and who appreciate their children for who they are. Mine are not autistic (though I do work with autistic children) but the memories we create daily via homeschooling and creative arts, music and play are treasures.

    PS: I’m in TN. Usually, we get at least one decent snow a year. Not so this year. This year, we seemed to have totally bypassed winter AND spring and jumped directly into summer. I kind of am the underdog here as I kind of mourn not seeing at least a LITTLE snow. But then I remember pools like your boys played in and sandboxes and think it’ll be okay after all. 🙂

    • I love the layout of your blog with the picture posts and summaries – way cool! I didn’t know you work with autistic children so that’s great to know and THANK YOU for all you do for the kiddos. . . . .I’m extremely grateful for all the great individuals we’ve met along the way. I remember when we moved from CA, I think the hardest goodbye for my wife was to one of the assistants that worked with our boys.

      Enjoy the weather! Sounds like us as well. . . though we did have snow flurries today. Oh well. 🙂

  9. Oh the painting is so lovely. hugs to the three cute angels 🙂

  10. It sounds like your boys are doing great! We were not nearly so “with it” at that age. Kudos to you and remember they will grow and change SO much and autism will change too! At five we were hardly verbal,not social and extremely challenged behaviorally…. and what small amount of verbal we owned carried little meaning. Today we are twelve and very verbal (though he will always carry remnants of the severe speech delay) and in regular ed. I’d have never thought it but autism is fluid and it changes so much!
    I am also a special ed teacher and the younger kids are my specialty. There is much that can be touched and moved when they are so young. Sounds like your family is really on its way 🙂

    • Sounds like a ton of progress you guys have seen in the what, 7 yrs? That’s way awesome and it makes me hopeful and optimistic about what’s in store. Personally, I admire and appreciate teachers and individuals who make it their profession and life to help children grow up to be good adults. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

