It’s a Wunderful Life – March 5, 2012

Accomplishments!: We finally had enough snow to get outside and enjoy a few days of sledding and boy was it a change from last year.  Twin A played outside more than Twin B did – I think the amount of powder on the ground was partially to blame since Twin B got a bit in his face the first run or two.  Anyway, on Friday we spent probably three hours sledding on little hills by our house and Saturday, another two hours.

Ready Set Go!

It was a big change from last year – both boys would TRY and trudge up the hill last year but it would take forever or they’d get tired halfway up the hill so we ended up having to carry or pull them both up the hill (see picture below).

Spoiled!

However, this year both boys did everything on their own – they would carry their tubes or sled up the hill, they’d get in (for the most part) on their own, and the day ended up much more enjoyable for us parents.  I spent most of both days with the boys and it was such a blast.

Trudging up the hill

Opportunities:  Since moving here, all of the kiddos have had semi-frequent bloody noses.  I’m not sure if it’s due to the altitude here or what but about every two weeks, we’ll wake up hearing one of the kids calling us in the middle of the night and we’d have to clean them up.  Time to go to the doctor just to be safe.

Tip of the Week: The boys’ speech therapist did an awesome session around “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” book.  On that note, we’ve been doing nightly exercises before going to bed and have started to notice slight improvements in their speech and muscle usage.  One of their favorite sentences is “Leo likes lollipops” since Leo is a mutual friend they both have.

This is what I get when I ask them to smile

So first, we read the book together.  The ST always uses a ton of prompts to get the boys to vocalize what is happening and since they are already familiar with the book, it went rather well.

Board work

Step 2 of the session was working with some laminated objects she had made with magnets on the back of each.  She had a picture of basically every page in the book (egg on leaf, caterpillar, the different foods, cocoon, etc) and the boys had to sort through them and put them on the white board.

Board work with the Very Hungry Caterpillar

After the boys put up the entire story on the board, she then asked them to tell her the story by using the timeline on the board.  I thought this was a great idea because she started off with a model for them to follow (i.e. her reading the book and seeing their level of comprehension), then had them visualize and recreate the story, followed by them taking her through the story with visual reinforcements.  She finished the lesson by having them make their own caterpillar – a little cutting, folding, drawing and voila~ an OT lesson as well!  🙂

Their little caterpillar

 

Anyway, hope the lesson idea helps.  Way easy and a fully engaging 40 minutes for the boys.  My daughter and I are going to make a few sets and have the boys take them to school.  Have a great week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 comments
  1. Colleen Wunder said:

    I love the caterpillar they made! I made Emi a Hungry Caterpillar quilt a long time ago! They should look at it.

  2. tightcalfrunner said:

    Cool thoughts on twins and autism – especially from a dad’s perspective! Thx

  3. That story activity looks awesome. I admittedly don’t understand all that goes into autism, but I know that anything that engages boys for 40 minutes is amazing. I have 3 boys myself. Great pictures of the time in snow also.

    • Thanks for the comment. I agree – trying to keep any kid’s attention for five minutes is a task in and of itself.

  4. Sometimes our boys’ bloody noses come with cold weather — could be filter on heater, cold air, etc. Thanks for sharing the great photos and the post.

    • Thanks for the thoughts – I agree with the weather. Plus, the heater tends to dry out the air so I wonder if that has something to do with it. We will see! Thanks for visiting!

  5. I love your pics! Maybe you all should take up photography too in your spare time 😉 Great activities with the Hungry Caterpillars! I love that book. I think it’s time to bring it back out and try these too!

  6. Hope the noses are all healed up! I had forgotten about that book, time to go shopping and see what I can do with my Grandson. You are awesome for sharing. Our therapists to this point have been so bad we actually quit going, so whatever I gain online, is what he gets!

    • That is way too bad about your therapist. My wife actually pulled out the OT Guide for the School District and the ‘goals’ they are looking for – I’ll use it as part of posts in the upcoming future. Good luck! Cheering you guys on and hope the posts help out!

      • I will call this week to see if we have any other option. Very small town though…the blogs help for sure. I am very proud of our litle Connor, he’s doing amazing but I totally admit a LOT of it comes from blogs and I know people don’t want to hear it but educational tv has helped him a LOT! In particular, portions of Sesame Street and an aboloute thumbs up to Super Why!

        • Sounds like you guys are doing a TON on your own – that’s to be commended. I’m glad to hear the ideas help. I hear ya on the educational TV. Our boys never did really pretend play with their trains until they started watching some other kids on youtube. The next day, I noticed they were imitating what they saw and now, they create their own stories. Whatever works right? 🙂

      • To 1Nana’sdream, I’m so sorry your experiences with the therapists has been so bad. BUT—don’t give up. The RIGHT therapists are out there and can make a WORLD of difference! THIS Nana is glad we BOTH found this blog for the sake of the little ones we cherish!!!

        And to you, my dear blogger, keep up the mighty fine work!!!

        • Thanks for the words…neither his mom or I have attempted to find another therapist and we had just given up. Thanks to this post and all that I’ve read I will go on a search to see if there is any other available to us. For now, I read daily about the things others have done to help with their own children and then use them myself. I do think a therapist would be great though…he needs to respond to those outside of family as well! Thanks to all who share what they are learning for those of us that have not found the right place just yet!

Leave a Reply

