Fox News Interview on Autism and Our Family

We were asked a few weeks ago by our twins’ school if we’d be willing to talk with Fox News Utah about the possible ‘diagnosis changes’ for autism and how it could affect our family.  The interview was done in two segments and the link below should take you to the main page.  Scroll down the page to see the second segment.

New definition of autism could deny some families social service help, insurance coverage.

I was at the State Capital for most of the day yesterday with a number of parents talking with our House Representatives on the Carson Smith Scholarship in UT and asking for their continued support and further push for more funds.  My twins aren’t receiving the scholarship since they are still in preschool and the scholarship is for school aged kids.   However, I am glad we were able to go and show our support for a great organization and group supporting Autism.   I am EXTREMELY GRATEFUL for the dedicated parents I met today who do so much – you gave me a renewed effort to do all I can for my kiddos.

Mtg with House Representative for the Carson Smith Scholarship

While I tend to be more of a ‘pessimistic realist’ with things, I am an eternal optimist that there is Someone who watches out for me and more importantly and comforting, my kiddos and family.  In our journey in autism, I am thankful for the awesome parents and role models I meet, and thankful for those who dedicate their work and lives to helping my kids.  YOU ROCK!

I also am EXTREMELY GRATEFUL for my family ~ these two boys are absolutely fantastic.  One of them was talking in class about his family and told his teachers that he has “a cool mom and dad.”  I was floored – I love my boys.

Angry Birds!

26 comments
  1. Thank you so much for sharing the videos…
    lovely Boys..they look more naughty birds 😆
    …hugs to both of them, may they be blessed with all the happiness and love they so deserve…

  2. gkinnard said:

    Thank you so much for posting this! Redefining autism is one of those double-edged swords: it could possibly lead to better, more targeted help; or it could lead to children and adults being excluded from help.

    I watched both videos: Your family is so beautiful! I’m very happy for you! It looks like the twins are off to a very good start in their education!

    I’m pleased to see that you’re being politically active in regard to your children—good for you! —George

    • Thank you! To your point – I think we are all hoping that whichever way the redefinition goes, it all works out. Thanks for the comments and visiting the post! Have a good one.

  3. Great post. I’m awaiting what may come about with this “redefinition” as well.

    Angry birds! I can’t believe i know what these are now (thanks to my son Christian) He has the red t-shirt and David has the black one (from a visit to the mall). Christian asked my to download that game on my iPhone, hilarious but i’m glad the boys are connecting to the computer, games, the iPhone and technology. Those were things they never cared for before.

  4. I love that you are grateful in the midst of all the choas, that you have found comfort and strength in those around you “in the same boat” — your boys are beautiful!

  5. So great. What an amazing post and how wonderful that you are out there advocating as well. It makes a such a difference and well those smiles say it all. Many people after you will be so grateful for your work and advocacy as well. The gift that keeps on giving.

  6. I loved your post, so I am going to share it to some facebook friends w/ kids on the spectrum. I am a mother, an aunt, a step-daughter and a big sister to kids (my sons and 2 nephews) and adults (brothers) to family members on the autism spectrum. They have inspired me… I really have no other way to express the changes they have made in our lives, but inspirations. I never dreamed I’d become so involved in politics (other than voting in elections) or the fight for the rights of disabled people. Nor would I have imagined breeding and training service dogs for kids with developmental disabilities like autism as part of my life’s work and Christian ministry.
    Before we realized my 2nd youngest brother had Asperger’s at 18 years old, nobody in the family really had any clue about autism, other than my experiences teaching a sweet little red haired boy who was totally obcessed with bowling pins when I was teaching preschool 12 years ago. By the time we knew my brother was affected (and now realize the two other brothers with ADD/ADHD problems were also probably on the spectrum as well, especially since we recently realized the oldest one probably has leaky gut syndrome that is causing a form of early on-set dementia at 34 years old), I was already pregnant with my oldest son, the one who has been most affected with autism. My son exhibited some “oddities” even in the womb (we didn’t realize his adversion to organ music and other sensory issues until he was nearly 5 yrs)… when I was pregnant he would move about excitedly when the organ played in church… my poor little boy… mommy thought he liked it and sat closer… but he was trying to escape. It took a goodly amount of time before his symptoms started adding up for us and then came all the hoops the school districts makes families jump through to get testing. My oldest little brother’s son is starting the process to get testing for special needs (I am almost certain he at least has ADD and possibly sensory processing disorder as well and we are seeing symptoms of ADD or ADHD in my younger son since a year ago Jan. when our school kicked him out until I finally gave in and vaccinated him). My husband’s nephew also has Asperger’s and so does my step-dad. My oldest seems to be the most affected of anyone in the family, and I always wonder with autism on both sides of the family tree, if Charles didn’t get a double dose of some crappy genes my husband and I might be carrying. To that point, we had our daughter tested for Fragile X at 3 months old and that came back negative, so hubby is not a carrier and she got a good gene from me, Anna is in the clear for that particular gene anyway, but she lost some solid foods she was eating and started rejecting the tiny amount of casein in my breastmilk after having her 1st two vaccines (DPaT and Polio… my husband insists on the Polio because his grandmother had that when my mother-in-law was a baby and was pretty crippled by it. At the time our Dr. was also pushing the DPaT because there was an outbreak of whooping cough on the near by Indian Reservation.) We should test the boys, but the oldest is so afraid of needles, it might be easier to test me. But until the other genes that are causing this stuff (possibly with an environmental trigger turning it on) are identified, Fragile X is the only one that we can test for.

    • Wow – that’s a lot going on for you! I agree with you on the political issues – never been one to do so but hey if it’s for a good cause, then someone’s gotta do it, right? 🙂

      I’d love to hear more about your dog training. That sounds amazing and I’m sure it is extremely helpful for individuals on the spectrum. Thanks for visiting and for sharing the blog!

      • You are welcome, happy to share. Will share more about the dogs another night, since it’s getting pretty late and I’ve got to get up early tomorrow. Tomorrow is spring picture day at school (hubby usually gets the boys dressed if the baby was up late… which is often lately as she’s 6 months and teething… but picture day is a mama getting the kids dressed day and making sure faces get washed and hair actually gets brushed and the teeth too, dad lets them where whatever they want… which most days, I say okay, whatever… but you know how grandma’s are they want pictures of kids who are shinyclean and sharply dressed. And I promised followers 2 GF/CF recipes tonight, not just the one for my pumpkin bread, so got to get my rear in gear if I want some sleep.

  7. Thanks for visiting my blog and I have enjoyed meeting you through your posts.
    You have a beautiful family and I wish you all the best! They are lucky to have you fighting for them.

  8. Cyn said:

    You have beautiful family and thank you for helping spread awareness about Autism and how the the possible ‘diagnosis changes’ for autism and how the impact it could make on your family and others. We are watching the outcome of this in Canada as well because our professionals will end up using the same guidelines. I always have the concern that because my son is a “happy smiley little boy” that loves being around the other children that some teachers who are not so informed might think he doesn’t need so much extra help. As one SLP said to me its a curse and a hidden blessing if your child does “act up” etc because then it fits a stereo type and they feel the urgency to do something. When we know that early intervention is so important lets hope that the changes don’t make it harder for some children to get the much needed boost they need to be successful students. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Thanks for the comment ~ let’s all hope for the best. Hopefully, the professionals working with our kids are good enough that they’ll really look at behaviors and habits with kids. Thanks for visiting!

  9. Thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog. I can see I definitely need to follow yours!

  10. Love the picture of the boys with the angry birds shirt! Bugs has one as well, so I guess you don’t outgrow angry birds! And their expression? Priceless…

    • I have one as well so yes – I don’t think you can outgrow them quickly. My boys got their grandma stuck on the game. 🙂

Leave a Reply

