Thumbsucking Progress – AMAZING!

OK – this will be a quick post since I usually do a weekly update on Sundays or Mondays but. . . . . they boys thumbsucking has stopped entirely!  It’s been a week since we issued the challenge!  In a previous post, I mentioned we were using the ‘traffic light’ reward system to encourge them to stop sucking their thumbs.

"I'm not sure about this dad"

Even at night when they are sleeping, they aren’t sucking their thumbs!  They walk past their “reward chart” daily but I notice that they aren’t really paying attention to it until the evening when they are waiting for their reward.  In fact, the only thing they really notice during the day is what color ‘daddy’ is on and if, for whatever unjustified (in my mind) reason, they can figure out a way for me to move to a yellow or red.  They are teaming up against me.  I had to interrupt a fight one afternoon and almost got moved to a yellow for it?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Have we left this behind?

This has been such a relief, surprise and huge accomplishment.  I am ‘cautiously optimistic’ that we have turned a corner  and are done with thumb sucking. Sometimes, I think I doubt how quickly they  will learn things because of their autism.  Much kudos to my  wife for putting the charts and ideas together. . . . and for allowing me to hide the candy in her car so I don’t totally blow my diet.  Proud of my kiddos.

2 comments
  1. Good for you guys!!!! I think I might have to try that green light system at my house…. We finally taught Jessica to use a sticker chart for hygeine issues, but we have yet to decrease some of the stims through a self-monitoring approach. That might take us a while to figure out since it would be totally new to her. Then again like you said, it is amazing how sometimes you think something will be a challenge because of the Autism, but then they turn around and suprise you!!!

  2. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a formidable
    job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

