Gladiator Rock-n-Roll “Anything for Autism”

I have an awesome friend who is one of my workout  idols. . . . even if we live in different states and haven’t seen each other in longer than I care to admit.  We grew up on Maui together and thanks to Facebook, we’ve reconnected.  TruD is always posting her workouts, runs, and events.  Since I am a novice HOPING DESPERATELY to do a half marathon this year and not get laughed at when I run Ragnar with my familiy, she keeps me motivated.

A few weeks ago, TruD tagged me in a picture.  I knew from previous posts that she was doing a run so I thought it was simply because she wanted me to know she finished it.  However, I looked a little closer at her wristband and realized why she tagged me (check out the picture below.

Congratulations Trudy!

I’ve heard of a number of ‘challenge courses’ that have become very popular over the past few years.  I even read a story about the “Tough Mudder” Course and how it became a finalist in the Harvard Business School Competition but didn’t win because the judges said it wasn’t going to be popular enough to be viable. Well, a few years later Tough Mudder signed a deal with Under Armour Apparel and 2011 revenues look to be about $25 Million. . . .  with a big portion of proceeds going to the Wounded Warrior Project.  Awesome.

Sorry, I love business stories and entrepreneurial stories so had to throw that in.  So, I started looking at the Gladiator Rock N Roll and now, it has won a special place in my heart.  The Gladiator Rock N Roll is another challenge course (you can get the down and dirty details on their website) that has risen in popularity and, the way awesome point here, is that the partner charity is TACA – Talk About Curing Autism!  WAY KOOL!

Official badge - Gladiator Rock n Roll

I ask TruD if she’d write about her experience and here’s her thoughts:

“Gladiator Rock N Run was quite the experience. I felt every kind of emotion in the hour and fourteen minutes it took to complete the course. The first step of the course was a shock because it was on a rocky trail straight up a mountain!

There were 16 obstacles throughout the course and the most difficult ones include crawling under a net on all fours at the very peak of the mountain, climbing in and out of a construction size dumpster twice my height, scaling walls, diving under lumber logs in ice water, crawling through a dark muddy tunnel, climbing up a rope over a high wall with mud and soap all over my body, and leaping over fire twice.

Leap of Faith - picture property of Supersports Photography. If you want it removed, please ask and it'll be gone

The second half of the race was real tough because you are running and tackling obstacles with shoes filled with rocks, sand, and mud! I looked over to my buddy Aida wanting to stop and we decided noooo waaay, we’re doing it for Max (her nephew) and the Wunder Ohana!  

I kept saying that it was more than a 5k and sure enough we found out that it was 4.5 miles! My team member Jazmin took 1st Female. Aida and I finished 1:14. Our bodies became riddled with scrapes and massive bruises but decided that we would do it again in a heart beat! Anything for autism, a condition near and dear to my heart.”

Thanks TruD for first of all, introducing me to another awesome opportunity to support Autism.  Secondly, for giving your all for the kids and everyone else.  In reading blogs and through my own personal experience, I know we are all appreciative for things people do to help our kids.  This was an awesome way to help and we appreciate it!  YOU ROCK!  Mahalo Nui Loa!

7 comments
  1. This is awesome!!!! In reading her description I’ve realized I might be a bit OCD–what bothered me was the dirt, not the physical challenge. So awesome they did so well!!! And for an awesome cause. Love it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. PJ's Mom said:

    The only thing I don’t like is that there’s not one near me :(

  3. Wow, talk about an “I could never do that” story. And I thought raising a little boy with special needs was hard!!!!!!

    Been thinking a lot about different people having different gifts, some physical, some financial, some spiritual, some social, and God calling us to share whatever gift we have and use whatever gift we have to make this world a better place for His glory. This makes me think of that. Thanks for sharing, Again!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,436 other followers

